Books that have film Adaptations · Russian Literature.

Dr Zhivago by Boris Pasternak.

Hmmm…. (CONTAINS SPOILERS.)

Likely as not, you’re more likely to have watched the tv adaptation starring Keira Knightley and Hans Matheson or the film adaptation with Omar Sharif and Julie Christie if you are a bit older. The book is something different entirely.

While finishing off reading this morning, I had to confront the realization that any adaptation made of this book is more than likely to chop the book material to pieces, in a view to create a more screen-friendly adaptation because if they put the entire contents of the book into a film, everyone would get confused and the film would run for hours.

It doesn’t just focus on Yuri. It focuses on other characters, too, and in some chapters it gives over entirely to their viewpoint. It also makes several points about Russian history. This book would be good for someone studying the topic at A-Level or higher, because we are not just faced with the history and life of a Russian doctor but with the world in which he is presently existing.

I don’t know if it was just me or not, but there were some points where I felt as if the timeline just blurred together, with everything happening in a matter of months instead of years.

I don’t know why I read this book, to be honest, but because I started it I might as well finish it. However, Russian literature is something that should just be enjoyed (I loved the works of Chekhov and have read Tolstoy. I also have Dostoevsky to tackle after this), instead of critically analyzed for an English degree of some sort. If I’d had to do that after reading Zhivago I’d have probably readily torn my hair out and had a literary meltdown because if you analyze a book too much it ceases to be enjoyable.

Maybe there’s something more to the book that I haven’t quite discovered, which makes it appealing? I welcome any feedback. šŸ™‚

Apparently Omar Sharif was a good Zhivago, but I’ve never seen the original adaptation because its never interested me. Maybe this is the best time to watch it while I’m rambling here?

do it with a 'tache, like a boss.
do it with a ‘tache, like a boss.
Leave a Reply

