Books that have film Adaptations · Chinese/ Japanese lit

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino

Ishigami the maths professor. A still from the film.
Ishigami the maths professor. A still from the film.

Yet another book review (MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS.)

I never read books of Chinese or Japanese origin. Films, possibly, but never books. I never even considered it before, and I never lingered near that section of the library because none of the books interested me.

But I took the plunge and picked up The Devotion of Suspect X. The basic story idea is all about a woman who kills her ex-husband and her neighbour covers for her and takes the blame for the murder.

Again, I don’t ordinarily read these sorts of books and I found this book simplistic and the plot was easy to follow.

The twist that was used is somewhat overused by filmmakers and authors but it somehow worked in the context of the book, but I don’t know how it would work in regards to a film because I haven’t seen the film adaptation of this, although I am aware that there is one.

Nearer the end of the book I thought that the author would make the death toll higher than (SPOILER) 2, but alas it was not to be and it would have been ironic and oddly fitting if it had been finished in that way. The ending gives endless possibilities as to what could happen next, giving possible clues to the fates of the characters.

Apparently these books are quite popular in Japan. Maybe I’m in the wrong country… the-devotion-of-suspect-x

Leave a Reply

