Books that have film Adaptations · Stephen King

Misery by Stephen King.

SPOILERS BELOW

images

I am generally not a fan of Stephen King books because I have never taken the time to sit down and read them properly. Until I read Green Mile, which was a fantastic book; one of the rare times when the book is as good as the film, if not better.

I digress. This is not a blog post about FEELINGS, this is about a book called Misery by good ol’ Stevie King and it tells the story of an author, Paul, who is saved from a car accident by a former nurse, Annie, who is a massive fan of Paul’s books. She then proceeds to keep him prisoner in her house while she makes him write a story about a character – Misery Chastain – who he killed off in a previous book.

Annie had taken personal offense at this and it is slowly revealed that she could be mentally unhinged. The author endures physical and mental torture at the hands of his crazed ‘number one’ fan. (SPOILER) and he loses a few thumbs and a foot as well, just to add to the craziness that can only be achieved by Stephen King.

From what I’ve seen of the film adaptation, the only saving grace is that of Kathy Bates (Titanic  and Revoloutionary Road are among her acting credits.) playing the role of Annie. It was oddly fitting and watching the film should certainly be on my ‘To Do’ list in the next few days.

2 thoughts on “Misery by Stephen King.

  1. Ah yes, Misery. How can one forget? Now let me keep an eye on my ankles and keep blocks of wood and a large hammer away from anyone who claims to be my number one fan 😉

    1. I am not afraid to say that I was genuinely afraid of the book, not in the sense that it grinned demnonically at me, (that would just be strange.) but rather it was so real in the way it portrayed manical fandom. It instilled a fear of many things into me, not including lawnmowers, typewriters, thumbs and feet!

Leave a Reply

