Books that have film Adaptations · Stephen King

The Green Mile by Stephen King

images-1

This is the second time I’ve read the book, and its always going to be the only time I’ve ever read a book and liked the film too. Usually its either or. Both are impeccable.

The book adds to the nuances already given by the fantastic film. It adds depth to fantastic characters; from Paul Edgecombe himself to John Coffey who always cries, to evil Percy Whetmore, and gives more backstory. I don’t want to write too much about it because otherwise I’ll just be going on about what a fantastic book it is. To be honest, I have a bit of a love/ hate relationship with Stephen King literature and this book I LOVE!

Phew, calm.

The only tiny negative I can find with the book vs the film is the scene when Paul’s wife dies, and Paul thinks he sees John Coffey. I only wish they could have put that scene in the film. It would have been interesting.

The first time I read this book, I cried, and I rarely cry at books. Now, reading it a second time I feel emotionally touched. Stephen King did something great in this book, and that was he fed you tiny details about characters so you could build up your own picture if you ever felt you needed some background before immersing yourself in the characters’ richness.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a Reply

