American Lit · Books that have film Adaptations

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

This book is such a little gem. It is the story of the March family: Marmie, Father and the four daughters. The story follows their lives for almost 10 years as they grow and develop as people and as a family. There are highs and lows, and there’s sadness too.

I am somewhat hesitant to say that I really enjoyed this book. My grandmother has always told me that I should read it, and after 10 years I finally have.
At first, I thought it to be somewhat preachy. I wasn’t ready to read a book of morals for the next 200+ pages. However, I was wrong and I was soon enchanted by the family’s adventures.

Maybe its because I am one of 5 children in my family, but I loved watching the sibling relationship develop between the daughters as they grew up. They were very well-developed character-wise, if too good at times and too aware that they had done wrong. But is that ever a fault?

There were even times that made me choke up a bit. One of those moments was when the ill sister, Beth, finally dies. Maybe its sentimentalizing death but that was during the time period where many people did die young.

The other bit that made me sad was right at the end; when all the remaining daughters were married to their respective husbands and had all gathered, while they reminisced. Maybe I was sad inwardly because it meant having to finish the journey begun with the characters at the start of the book? Perhaps.

MY RATING: 4.5 / 5.

author of Little Women
Louisa May Alcott.
Leave a Reply

