American Lit · Books that have film Adaptations

The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris.

01-behind-the-scenes-of-silence-of-the-lambs

Maybe I should have watched the film first.

I think everyone knows this book, either by reputation or by the scene of ‘I ate his liver’ etc…

I read this book because I picked it up on the spur of the moment from a library near to where I live. Even explaining the plot of this book in a few words would be pointless because they would be insufficient to truly explain the magnitude of what this book is about.

I had very low expectations about this book to begin with. At times it seemed like a broken down car; fits of energy and suspense peppered by bursts of nothing much happening at all. But looks can be deceiving.

When you are off your guard, plot-wise, the latest plot twist is thrown at you, you are left to feel bewildered and on edge; unprepared again for yet another assault on your feelings.
I thought the whole Lecter-Starling relationship was going to consist of quick fire conversations, but I was wrong again. It will always have you guessing. And with the ‘Buffalo Bill’ character, that was probably the most interesting and perverse of all. His scenes had me going ‘Oooh!’ or ‘aah!’ in realization, several times.

This is the sequel of ‘Red Dragon’. I haven’t read the book or seen the film, but it didn’t alter how I saw The Silence of the Lambs.

Also, the photo above is a backstage photo of Anthony Hopkins eating a chip while wearing the Hannibal Lecter mask.

MY RATING: 4 / 5.

3 thoughts on “The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris.

    1. I love filming set photos because it just shows everyone fooling around and having fun. I really want to watch Silence of the Lambs and I am always on the look out for films to watch.

  1. You are in for a treat if you haven’t seen the movie yet! I read Red Dragon a long time ago followed by Silence of the Lambs. So happy when the movie came out with Jodie Foster doing Clara justice. And of course Hopkins’ Lecter is just movie gold – as is the so creepy Buffalo Bill as played by Ted Levine.

Leave a Reply

