Books I didn't like · Misc. Historical Fiction. · Sequels

Mrs De Winter by Susan Hill

I am actually going to write a review about a book that I couldn’t finish. There’s a first time for everything.

I just couldn’t finish reading Mrs De Winter by Susan Hill, the author of Woman In Black. I just couldn’t finish it. And I read Journey to the End of the Night by L. F. Celine! I felt forced to finish that. But I did.

Anyway, I didn’t like this book. In fact, I hated this book. There was nothing redeeming about it whatsoever and even if I could only get through 80 pages of this car-crash of a book, I flicked ahead and read the end. And it just felt tacked on and a bit boring. Not finishing it didn’t deny me of much of what the book itself had to offer.

I actually really liked the original book but Hill’s poor foil for the great work just left me cold and bored. Read it if you must, but stick with the original if you don’t want to be disappointed.

MY RATING: 1 / 5.

Leave a Reply

