Books that have film Adaptations

The Cabin in the Woods by Tim Lebbon.

cabin_in_the_woods_ver4_xlgThis is my review of the book, written to coincide with the release of the film in 2012.

Five teens spend a weekend at a cabin in the woods. You have the atypical stereotypes – The Virgin, The Athlete, The Whore, The Fool and The Scholar. They are being observed at a secret underground facility – with the aid of manipulation, of course.

This was a passable book. A bit gory, it kept you guessing throughout. Then, I haven’t seen the film so I can’t really say how the two measure up with one another. I had a feeling that The Virgin was going to make it to the end (and still have the readers guessing) because that is how horror lore works.

Alas, the book lost my respect and interest when it brought zombies into the mix. It just seemed a bit random and pointless, but then again I suppose if the teens aren’t going to kill each other they may as well be killed by the undead or something. Despite all the somewhat good bits, to me it never lost the feeling of being anything more than the bogstandard horror film where sex = death. At some points it felt like a point-and-click horror game and I suppose the two could be crossed over without much difficulty. Horror films seem to hate teens quite a lot, because of the supposed corruption that they represent.

It is quite simply written with the same sort of language – lots of italics and exclamation marks. I don’t think I’ll be reading it again.

MY RATING: ** / *****

Leave a Reply

