American Lit · Books I didn't like

On The Road by Jack Kerouac

Jack Kerouac, author.
Jack Kerouac, author.

I just couldn’t finish this book.

Other authors (such as Louis Ferdinand Celine) used stream-of-conciousness narrative well enough. But here…it just reads like the ramblings of a lunatic. I have tried for a very long time to try and get my proverbial teeth into this book. I just can’t. Its supposed to be one of the greatest novels of all time but to me it isn’t. I hate never finishing a book because I feel like a failure.

I don’t know anything about the literary period to which this belongs. And, to be honest, I’ve spent far too long trying to get into it that I’ve completely lost my way. Maybe I am just being picky, but I can’t be forced to care about the protagonist or what he does. I pity any poor student having to study this book.

Sorry for the short review, but I can’t really say anything positive about the book. At all.

MY RATING: * / *****

Leave a Reply

