American Lit · Books that have film Adaptations

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky

“So if this does end up being my last letter, please believe that things are good for me, and even when they’re not, they will be soon enough,”

I finally got around to reading this book after having heard extensively about the movie. The book takes the form of a diary, written by 15-year-old freshman, Charlie. He is trying to navigate his way through life – friendships, school, relationships, music, sexuality, death…

This book was written in 1999 and set in 1991-1992. The perils and struggles of teens has never really changed in the intervening 20 years. It is a ‘coming of age’ novel, but is also quite dark at its heart.

I think the reason I avoided this book for so long was because I thought it would just be like one of countless books which have a dull narrative and forgettable characters. I read this book in a few days, and I really recommend it if you are looking for a new book to try. Be warned, though, you will feel very morose when you have finished reading the book. It made me feel empty inside, but in a good way…if that makes sense??

MY RATING: ****.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

