Books I didn't like · Chick Lit

The Woman Who Stole My Life by Marian Keyes

“I know forty-one is the new eighteen, but tell that to my metabolism.”

My thoughts on this book are honestly a bit mixed! The book was funny but the chick lit genre is never particularly intelligent and the romance between Stella and her neurologist, Mannix, was boring. The narrative structure wasn’t very good and didn’t seem very cohesive really.

I’m sure if I was a bored wife / mother then I might like this book more than I currently do, because perhaps I could identify with Stella’s struggles and those of her bathroom designer ex-husband Ryan, and her two teenage children Jeffrey and Betsy. This book is the sort of thing you’d probably read on the beach or on a long journey when you have nothing else to do.

One positive thing about the book is the edition I had was an edition with bright blue edged pages. Fickle, yes. Also, I brought it for over 1/2 price, from the clearance section of Waterstones…

MY RATING: ** / *****

Leave a Reply

