Lists · Notes / Notices

My book collection (September 2015) (A-F)

Hello readers. Sorry I haven’t put up a post in a while. I’m trying to plough my way through Ford Madox Ford’s Parade’s End – hence the reason for being MIA when it comes to blog posts. Instead, I thought I would tell you about the books in my collection. It has grown quite a lot over the year – (I moved to uni with three books). Hope you enjoy this blogpost. Books are sorted alphabetically by author, from A-F. I’ll tackle G-Z in another blogpost.

The Doll’s House by M.J Aldridge
Part of a series involving DI Helen Grace, a police detective. I didn’t read any of the other books in the series but reading the other books would at least show that characters had legible backstories. Might return to this series at some point.

The First Phone Call From Heaven by Mitch Albom
Not as good as The Five People You Meet In Heaven, it had too many narrative plot arcs to retain my interest consistently. The history of the telephone included in the book was interesting though.

Spring Tide by Cilla & Rolf Borjland
A book about a body buried at a beach. Its Nordic noir style, similar to stuff such as Wallander. It seems to be written with the expectation of being made into a television series.

Testement of Youth by Vera Brittain
Interesting literary portrait of society pre-war, interwar and post war years (1914-1920s approx…). Vera Brittain was a nurse during World War One, as well as a poet. Both her brother and fiance both died in the war. A big book, it took a long time to finish but was certainly worth it.

The Aftermarth by Rhidian Brook
Set during World War 2, this was a bit of a mishmash and I didn’t particularly care for character motivations.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
Quite a good book, set in 17th century Amsterdam. Written very vividly, there were so many fascinating plot twists along the book’s duration. I would have cried upon finishing reading the book, but I was waiting in an airport so such explosions of emotion would have been unsuitable. The edition I have also has blue pages. So that’s good. Right?

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
A book written in a diary style, it was set in the 1990s and written around the same time. Interesting book over all, and rather heartbreaking.

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins
So far I’ve only tackled the first book in the trilogy. Its very well written and not just for teenage audiences. Its good to have a book with a strong female character as the central focus.

i wish i were engulfed in flames by Jeni Decker
Written by a woman whose two sons both have Asberger’s. Haven’t read this one yet, but it sounds interesting. Brought it cheaply from a Waterstones bargain box.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Haven’t read this one yet but the salesperson told me it is like The Book Thief but for adults. Really looking forward to reading this book when I get the time to do so.

Room by Emma Donoghue
Told from the perspective of a young boy imprisoned in a room with his mother. Haven’t read this one yet but it looks interesting.

Here Are All the Young Men by Rob Doyle
Its like an Irish Trainspotting. It got very dark in nature and there were a few times when I had to take a step back because it got so horrific.

Submarine by Joe Dunthorne
Another diary-style book. I couldn’t sympathize with the narrator at all. Not really tempted to watch the film adaptation.

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
The Japanese POW story from the Australian perspective. A very sad book but the infidelity plot thread was a bit boring and the book could exist without it.

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
A book about a cathederal construction during the Middle Ages. Tried reading this before. Might return to it at some point.

Parade’s End by Ford Madox Ford
Really long book about the decline of the aristocracy during World War I. Reads a bit like a stream of conciousness book, it is the reason for no blog posts on this blog for a protracted amount of time. I will stick with it, but I brought the book back when the adaptation was shown on the BBC. Starring Benedict Cumberbatch.

The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles
Quite a witty book with interesting observations about society. It has several endings, and the story is interesting. I originally watched the film adaptation of this, starring Jeremy Irons and Meryl Streep. The said adaptation is faithful to the book. It is also has interesting perspectives on gender roles in the 19th century.

Thank you for reading this section of the blog post. I wanted to tackle the entire book collection in one big lump but it would be boring for you and tedious for me. So at a later point, I will tackle G-Z in the next blogpost. Hope you’ve enjoyed reading this blogpost. What’s a favourite book of yours which you’ve been reading recently? Comment below xxx

 

Leave a Reply

