Uncategorized

My Book Collection (September 2015) (M-Z).

The last part of my book collection blog posts. Hope you enjoy reading them.

Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela
Got given this as a present from the woman I babysat for a few years ago, around the time that Mandela died. I’ve dipped in and out of it over the past year but I should certainly commit to reading it from beginning to end.

In God’s House by Ray Mouton
Book about a clerical sexual abuse case. Quite a long book but it illustrates a very difficult chapter in church history.

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North
I didn’t like this book even though the premise was interesting. The basic plot is about a man who can live his life again and again. They could have explored more avenues, plot-wise. But alas, they did not.

A Child Called It by David Pelzer
A tragic story of a man’s emotionally abusive childhood under his tyrannical parents. Another Amazon find.

Alex y Robert by Wena Poon
I found this book in a Waterstones bargain box. I may read it at some point.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
Another Amazon find. The premise (set during World War II) was certainly something which caught my attention.

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon
I’ve heard of Shannon’s work through various avenues and look forward to reading it, although it follows The Bone Season

The Student Cookbook by Miranda Shearer
Certainly a useful tool to have as a student.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
The reputation of this book precedes it. Its quite good but probably rather dull to a modern audience.

The Art of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein
The idea of this book being from the point of view of a dog was the factor which immediately enchanted me. I can’t wait to read this book.

The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey
My grandmother lent me this one. Its not one of my favourites. Its about Richard III and the characters in the book discuss whether or not he was guilty of the crimes he’s been accused of by history. It was written like a mystery novel and while it was very diverting it just didn’t pique my interest.

Film Art by Bordwell & Thompson
Its one of my course books.

Who Is Tom Ditto? by Danny Wallace
Quite a random book with a weird plot. The cover is nice, though.

Night by Elie Wiesel
A book about the Nazi concentration camps. Oft used premise but I’m looking forward to reading this book.

Shadows of the Workhouse & Farewell to the East End by Jennifer Worth
I got both books respectively around the time the series of the Call the Midwife series got released. Haven’t avidly read them yet, but the series was very good at illustrating a time which is luckily forgotten.

Thank you for reading these blogposts. I hope you enjoyed them. What books are in your book collection? xxx

Leave a Reply

