American Lit · Biographies / Autobiorgaphies

A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer

“I will stay alive.”

This book is about a young boy’s struggle growing up under the terror of his mentally ill mother and his cowardly father. I feel giving this book 5*’s would be unfair, as if I were endorsing the horrific treatment the author received at the hands of his mother. But it broke my heart, that such people exist who think it acceptable to hurt their children thus. Even if Pelzer’s mother was mentally ill, why did she single him out over his other brothers for the target of his abuse.

Apparently there is quite a bit of controversy concerning the book’s accuracy. If Pelzer did make up most of this book, then one can only wonder why. It is indeed admirable that Pelzer managed to survive such a horrible childhood.

I never visibly cried when reading this book but it still broke my heart, especially when Pelzer talks of the lengths he went to, in order to secure himself something to eat without his mother finding out.

MY RATING: *** / *****

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer

  1. It is pretty unique in how we review books and how different people look at the review/star system. See when I think of 5 stars-I don’t think about the actual subject of the book and whether I’m “promoting” the situation but more of how the story is told, does it line up, how the descriptions are, etc. Thanks for your review, I also gave it a 3 out of 5 stars when I read it for other reasons.

  2. One of Dave’s brothers has written a book that demonstrates that what Dave went through was true because this brother went through the same abuse after Dave was removed from the home. I can’t remember the brother’s name but the whole story is true.

Leave a Reply

