Books for Teens · Misc. Historical Fiction.

A Little in Love by Susan Fletcher

“For love is the strongest thing of all-and love never dies, never dies.” 

This book is the Les Miserables story from Eponine’s point of view. Written for a teen audience, it attempts to give Eponine the ‘voice’ of a typical young girl pursuing the throes of unrequainted love along with poverty and misery.

As I said, it is written for a teen audience so I obviously couldn’t immerse myself in the story. It came across as something similar to ‘fanfiction’. If I were the right target age, I would’ve enjoyed it more. Eponine’s love of stars was rather sweet.

Over all, while the story was a homage to Hugo’s original work, it couldn’t ‘wow’ me. This makes me feel like a bad person. If I was young enough it might encourage me to learn more about the story and its original characters. However, I don’t dislike it enough to put it in the ‘dislike’ category.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

