Jodi Picoult · Misc. Historical Fiction. · Uncategorized

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult

“You and I…will have another bakery where we’re going….they can take away my home…and my money, and my wife and child. They can take away my livelihooand my fooand my – my grandson. But they can’t take away my dreams,” 

Sage is a baker who shuts herself away, feeling people judge her for the scar on her face. Her grandmother is a survivor of the concentration camps and an elderly friend confesses to being a former Nazi SS guard. 

Ultimately this book was enjoyable to read but very tragic. Sage’s story didn’t interest me to begin with (involved with a married man – I think that particular narrative arc has been used before?) It was clear from the beginning that Leo would be an alternative love interest. His character seemed more defined, somehow.

Minka’s story was enthralling and very sad. This is probably one of Picoult’s best. I heartily encourage you to read this book.

MY RATING: ***.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

