Misc. Historical Fiction.

Kommandant’s Girl by Pam Jenoff

“I wanted you. You are my everything,” 

I regret beginning 2016 with a less-than positive review.

My thoughts on this book are very mixed. The reviews I read of this book were predominantly negative, and I found the book tough to get into. Not because of the perceived intellectual nature of the writing, but because it just failed to make an interesting book or plot until the final 50 pages or so.

The book is very descriptive and vividly recreates the world inhabited by Emma Bau, the central character in World War II Poland. But my main point of annoyance was the repeated use of the word ‘okay’. Minor annoyance, yes, but it was just very lazy writing. I liked the character of Lukasz, the little boy Emma looks after and becomes fond of, following the death of his parents.

I hope there is a sequel to this book. If not, there should be. I want to give this book a good rating but the repeated use of ‘okay’ and the inability for me to connect to the characters means I rate it poorly.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

