Fantasy Fiction

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell.

“For one voyage to begin, another must come to an end. Sort of,”

After over a month of reading this book, I am finally finished.

I wish I could give it a complete 5* rating because the premise is pretty sound as things go, its just that the story could have done with a bit of trimming to make it a bit more streamlined. I would have been perfectly happy with a book which just covered the life of Holly Sykes and her husband and daughter.

I just felt emotionally disconnected from the characters. I wish I wasn’t, but if the book had been at least, say, 100 pages shorter then at least it would have been manageable. I continued reading it because I didn’t want to give up on a book half way to the end!

The narrative was just everywhere which is understandable when it covers a timeframe of about 70 years, but as it delineated from the main narrative it just made me want to put the book down and walk away.

Mitchell seems to love his language and that’s great, but my patience quickly grew thin with the jumpy nature of the narratives. I couldn’t form emotions for characters and felt nothing when they fell from the mortal coil of life.

I don’t dislike this book enough to put it in the ‘books I disliked’ category but all the same I didn’t adore it and I don’t think I’ll return to read it in any great hurry. However, among all the dregs there must be a positive, right? Of course. Among the dross there must be gold, and that’s the same in this instance. The characters are certainly vividly written and some of the narratives were interesting but ultimately I just didn’t want to admit defeat and give up. One of the later narratives involved an internet crash around the year 2039 and that would certainly be an interesting, although frightening prospect. That factor alone is the reason I’m not going to designate this book and blogpost to the special place in hell where 1 * books reside. It’s going to go into the ‘Fantasy fiction’ category instead.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

