Books for Teens · Books that have film Adaptations

Hunger Games Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

“And if we burn, you burn with us!”

Reviews for the final books in trilogies are rather tricky. They are supposed to be the end, and they are supposed to end with the reader feeling satisfied that all the ends have been suitably tied up or the readers can go home to lick their wounds to cry in peace.

In this case, the structure of this final book was rather messy, to put it bluntly. It really didn’t know where to go when it came to structure, and as a result I couldn’t be attached to any of the major plot points unfolding within the book’s storyline. Little thought was given to major character deaths so much so that I had to stop and pause, thinking ‘where did they go? Did I lose them somewhere along the way?’

The first book was my favourite of the trilogy and while this book did end the narrative, it did it so suddenly and so messily that I felt hugely unsatisfied. I expected to feel emotion – PEOPLE DIE, remember – but all I could feel was relief that the book was over.

Even if I didn’t like this book as much as the first one, it isn’t so bad that it deserves the Scarlet Letter of ratings. It was interesting, but unfortunately it took me longer to get through because I ended up just reading it when I had time in between assignments and lectures, sadly. Perhaps if I had tried to keep going in reading it for a longer period of time I would have foistered some semblance of a bond with the characters.

Ultimately, the book was good enough and I’m glad I’ve got through the trilogy. Any thoughts I may have had at earlier points that the book could in any way rise above the limiting Young Adult Fiction category are sadly mistaken.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

