Misc. Historical Fiction. · Uncategorized

The Tea Planters Wife by Dinah Jefferies

“And can we go swimming later? She likes to fly,” 

“Fly?”

Hugh nodded. “That’s her word for swimming,” 

Despite any preheld ideas I might have had about this book, it surprised me so much. I was all set to dislike this book – the main female protagonist would spend every other page crying and her husband seemed too good to be true, the plot was tied up too neatly and explained away far too easily. However, Jefferies has a way of painting a picture with words which felt very evocative. I loved the character of Gwen’s son Hugh because he had such an adorable personality.

I read the last half of the book in one night and ended up a sorry mess of tears the next morning. I really didn’t expect to be thus encumbered but it was a beautifully written book. I don’t think I will return to it any time soon – not because it is forgettable but I just need time for my heart to heal.

The layers of deception, jealousy and drama were very well done and this is the perfect book to get lost in. The atmosphere of 1920s Ceylon seemed very realistically brought to life in a world where all the pent up tensions looked set to implode upon themselves.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a Reply

