Books that have film Adaptations · Chick Lit

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

“…I told him a story of two people. Two people who shouldn’t have met, and who didn’t like each other much when they did, but who found they were the only two people in the world who could possibly have understood each other.”

A young waitress from a small town becomes the carer for a quadriplegic man and sets out to convince him not to end his life at a Swiss Dignitas clinic.

To be honest, while I do read a lot of it I am quite wary of chick-lit as usually there is little between the ears of the story and it serves as nothing more than mindless pulp with a squelchy central message in it. The book, however, still managed to be funny despite its very serious subject matter. The personal journey experienced by the central protagonist Lou Clark was believable and I loved her growing relationship with Will. He was so sharply sardonic it was a joy to read. Of course there’s the standard cookie-cutter standard boyfriend who doesn’t understand Lou and is more concerned with his sporting successes, but he’s often demoted to the role of background character. That is probably my only niggle about this book, as well as the fact that at times Lou came across as pitifully naive and by the way she was sometimes treated by her parents I had to remind myself that she was 27, not 17.

I didn’t expect to be so moved by this book. As I said, I’m a bit wary of chick-lit but while I read this my emotions undulated between laughter and tears. The book’s other central arc about living your life to the fullest is a theme identifiable to everyone, and certainly makes you think.

I think there is a sequel to this book but right now I don’t really want to read it all that much because I want to explore loads of different genres. I will, however, watch the film adaptation at some point in the future.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

