Classic English Literature. · Misc. Historical Fiction. · Sagas · Sequels

Biggles of the Camel Squadron by Captain W.E Johns

“Come on chaps,” he said huskily. “Let’s aviate!” 

I borrowed this book from my brother-in-law, having heard plenty about it.

For one thing, with any book of a series it is best to start at the beginning. While this book isn’t the first in the melee, it is still quite OK. It’s very much a ‘boy’s book’ and takes great joy in describing the ins and outs of the fighter planes. Johns obviously used his years as a fighter pilot to good effect!

In this book there are a series of short stories in which Biggles goes about defeating the Germans in various ways. This book drips of Old England, of Bosch and King and Country. I can see why this was likely used as a recruiting tool to enlist fighters in World War II.

If I was ever going to get into this book or this character I think I would have to get into it from the get-go and start from the beginning. I am grateful that my brother-in-law leant me his copy of Camel Squadron, and it was fun to read. It even had its fair share of funny moments and witty quips. However, if I am to get a full feel of a character I’d rather I started from the beginning and didn’t just jump in half way through and expect to adore it.

If you like fighter pilot-based stories, and patriotism, and good old British fun then I’d recommend this book. If not, then possibly avoid. Or read sparingly.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a Reply

