Fantasy Fiction

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

“I mean, maybe I am crazy. I mean, maybe. But if this is all there is, then I don’t want to be sane.”

I actually really enjoyed this book.

Not enough to put it on my Top 10 List, but I really enjoyed the time spent reading it and it left me wanting more. I’d never really explored the fantasy genre at any length before but having read this I really want to further explore the genre.

Richard, the central character, goes through the same disillusionment felt by everyone in a big city. A series of events unfold and he ends up in London Below, where predominantly the most of the story takes place. The other characters take their time to unleash themselves on the story, but when they finally turn up don’t go taking sides because not all is as it appears.

Of course there were times that it dragged. If you ever go through similar feelings, then please stick with the book because it is worth it. The only flaw I can think of is that some of the description was a bit weak and trite but if I didn’t read a book because of that then I would’ve certainly given up on many books previously.

I’m glad I’ve discovered Neil Gaiman’s books. I’m not too sure where the target age for them is supposed to be but it is a good book and I will certainly look for more of his work, especially as he wrote Stardust, from which the brilliant film was adapted from.

If you want to discover a new author, or even discover the fantasy genre then I highly recommend this book. I only wish there was a sequel…

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

