Books that have film Adaptations · Classic English Literature. · Kids books

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

“and what is the use of a book,” thought Alice. “Without pictures or conversations?”

This is one of those books which I never actually read growing up, although I did see the Disney film.

Perhaps this is aimed more towards younger children, but it is quite charming in itself. Told in a very simplistic, somewhat idiosyncratic way, it delightfully plays with words and puns to create an endearing story.

However, I didn’t adore it and I don’t think I’d read it again. Of course it feels as much a product of its time as everything because it seems like a story of morals. This book is seen as a classic and I don’t doubt that it is, however, I don’t think it has any redeeming qualities about it. I didn’t really learn anything from it, although perhaps it is just simply an ode to innocence and childhood.

While this wasn’t a terrible book, I don’t think its quite my idea of a book I’d readily return to, and Alice repeatedly giving herself moralizing self-inflicted talks got boring quite quickly. I couldn’t really glean anything memorable from this book sadly, although it certainly has made its mark on popular culture.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

