American Lit · Books that have film Adaptations

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

“Atticus, he was real nice.”

“Most people are, Scout, when you finally see them.”

This is one of those books which has a great deal of importance in modern literature but I never quite got around to reading it until now. I was pleasantly surprised.

To give a book such titles as ‘Greatest book ever’ and the like is not something which should be taken lightly. And I tend to approach them with trepidation because the reasoning behind them being popular fiction is a bit indeterminate and up to the individual reader.

I loved this book. While its certainly not my #1 book, it is quite high up in the rankings. I stayed up all night to finish reading this book, and felt very dejected when this book was back on the bookshelf. Many people I have spoken to say that they had to study the book at school and thus lost the enjoyment of it. I was spared that indignity, so maybe that made the experience positive for me.

It has so many themes at its heart, it would be a pity to try and narrow it down to a mere few. My favourite characters were Atticus and Miss Maudie. I liked Atticus because he was wise, especially when acting as the defense lawyer for Tom Robinson, a black man accused of raping a white woman. I liked Miss Maudie’s character because she was ebullient and positive, even when her house was burned down and she insisted she had wanted it that way so she could have more space for her flowers.

Maybe one day I will read this book again and realize that my extremely positive reaction to it was a little overblown. However, for the time being I will leave you with a positive review for this classic American novel. I want to watch the film adaptation one day too.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a Reply

