poetry · Uncategorized

Grief is the Thing With Feathers by Max Porter

“the boys shouted

I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU

and their voice was the life and song of their mother.”

I didn’t even realize that the title was in reference to an Emily Dickinson poem. However, yet again I went in with very little knowledge of what the book had in store.

It’s very short, only about a hundred pages long so with luck it can be read in a day. I tend not to choose to read books of poems for the most part, so this was a new experience for me. It’s the story of a grieving father and his two boys while they navigate love and loss following the death of the boys’ mum. Their saviour is a crow who turns up and becomes a surrogate parent to the boys, until he is no longer needed.

To be honest, it’s not the sort of book I would usually read. I am slowly getting back into poetry after many years deviation. I haven’t lost anybody close recently, so perhaps this isn’t the book for me but I think the gentle allegory of the poems could be of comfort to those who are feeling lost following bereavement, who knows?

I might not read this again but would recommend it to those who are perhaps feeling a little bit lost at the moment.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a Reply

