Books that have film Adaptations · Graphic Novels / Comic Books · Uncategorized

V For Vendetta by Alan Moore

This sort of fiction is so rare a review for me that it requires a whole new category of its own!

I saw the film adaptation years ago and was only vaguely aware then that it was based on a graphic novel by the notorious Alan Moore. For many years I skirted around graphic novels and comic books themselves. I am not entirely sure why but they seemed a world apart. A world I did not feel welcome in.

However, upon moving to the UK for university I discovered a magical place known as Forbidden Planet and I promptly brought a copy of this graphic novel. It took me a few days to get into the swing of things but from the get-go I loved it and fell hard and fast for this masterful work about codename V and his accomplice Evey.

The artwork is brilliant, and its use of light and dark is wonderfully done. It seems somehow superior to the film adaptation, starring Hugo Weaving and Natalie Portman, somehow. The film was good but a little bit too streamlined.

Image result for v for vendetta movie
The graphic novel has a film adaptation, starring Hugo Weaving and Natalie Portman. (2006)

Having read this graphic novel, I can’t wait to discover more. I even have some manga to explore, but that’s for another day.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

