American Lit · Books that have film Adaptations

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

“I can still tend the rabbits, George? I didn’t mean no harm, George.”

This is another one of those books which I haven’t read until now. So many people who warned me against this book had studied it at school and thus any enjoyment they may have gleaned from it had long ago withered up and died. I was, however, vaguely aware of this book’s ending, given that it has been repeatedly referenced in popular culture.

The book is very short, which is a good thing. I feel like it was the perfect duration and there was no need to expand or detract on important moments within the story.

One theme of this book is the American Dream, and its ultimate failure. The two main characters were well done and well-rounded. I felt as if this book was a small microcosm of a wider picture. Ultimately, I just ended up feeling a great deal of pity for the two characters, especially Lennie.

It is a powerful book about the building up and then ultimate loss of dreams, something everyone can identify with. This book will certainly stay in my head for a long time to come.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

