Books that have film Adaptations · science fiction

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

“…Don’t feel sorry for me. I’m glad I had a second chance in life like you said to be smart because I learned a lot of things that I never knew were in this world, and I’m grateful I saw it even for a little bit.”

I don’t quite know what drew me to pick this book up from a branch of Waterstones near me. I think it must’ve been the premise. The book’s themes continued to intrigue me throughout the time I spent reading this book.

To try and boil down said themes to fit this simple review is simply impossible. It is not simply a story of intelligence or lack of, but also of society’s treatment towards those who are mentally deficient, suppression within families, the limits of science and mental regression. Of course, this is but a few of the many films within the book itself.

I highly recommend this book to those who are fans of sci-fi books. While of course there are no robots and futuristic societies here, it is clearly a book which exhibits what can happen when science turns ugly. Of course, the book also identifies society’s hypocrisy towards those who are “mentally retarded” and they are often viewed as a joke by many, sadly.

I felt so sorry for Charlie, the main character in the book. All he wanted was to be smart and have friends, and yet when he became intelligent he alienated everyone else around him, especially when he loses his ability to read foreign languages. I learned recently that there is a film adaptation of this book. I will be readily seeking this out very soon.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a Reply

