Companion Books for TV / Film · Misc. Historical Fiction.

The Light Between Oceans by M L Stedman

“There are still more days to travel in this life. And he knows that the man who makes the journey has been shaped by every day and every person along the way.”

It is rare that I sit and read a book in one sitting.

But due to having a lot of time on my hands, I found myself finishing this book in practically no time at all. Despite being a bit on the melodramatic side, this book was good.

The character motivations were strong and realistic. Stedman is talented at painting pictures with words and reading this book really was an emotional rollercoaster. The book certainly forces you to confront how you define motherhood and parental relationships, especially when Lucy’s real mother discovers the truth about the daughter she thought to be dead.

The relationship between Izzy, Tom and Lucy was so touching. It was heartbreaking when they were separated by fate only to succeed in a semblance of reunification at the end. I love the way Lucy was written in the story. She was such a key character and not just a flat cliche like most children in other books. The backgrounds of the characters are well laid out and as thus they are believable. You want it to turn out all right for everyone in the end.

I sympathized with Izzy’s dilemma when she was raising Lucy as her own although perhaps if I were to revisit this book when I am older with a family of my own then perhaps my feelings will likely change.

This was Stedman’s first novel, and it’s a brilliant debut. I can’t wait to read more of her work, not to mention watch the film adaptation of this novel…

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

