Chick Lit

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French

“Funny how women are ashamed of their inner fairy whereas men are forever proudly displaying their inner cowboy or fireman”

This book was a recent charity shop find and looked promising.

I feel bad that I’m giving this quite a paltry review, but its still worth it all the same. Ultimately, I didn’t really like this book.

Perhaps I’m not a 50-year-old mum of two teetering on the edge of a midlife crisis, but I didn’t find this book all that funny. The only thing that was vaguely commendable was the book’s buckets of dramatic irony. The characters seemed very flat, and for the most part I just felt sorry for most of the characters. I felt that Mo’s teenage daughter Dora was written to be much younger although she was supposed to be about 18. Most teenagers grow out of the bratty teen phase pretty quickly…

I always like exploring new books and while this book’s final 3/4 were quite good, I don’t think that can make up for its somewhat lackluster overarching narrative. Of course, when a book’s genre is staked on redemption, happy endings and predictability, deviation is impossible. Ultimately, I didn’t really enjoy reading this book all that much but didn’t hate it so much as to land it in the ignominy of my Worst Books List…

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

