Classic English Literature.

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

“We had our breakfasts–whatever happens in a house, robbery or murder, it doesn’t matter, you must have your breakfast.”

Prior to reading this book I had never read any of Collins’s work. I hate having to give this book a less than positive review, but I would feel worse were I to lie about my feelings.

The book does a good thing dealing with the multiple perspectives of characters because it kept the story varied. Also, as I had read that this book was the first true detective story it was interesting to see how it stuck to the expected norms. I liked the chapters in the narrative voice of Gabriel Betteridge because they were quite funny. Another narrator, Miss Clack, was amusing as well because she had a habit of leaving improving books out for family, friends and strangers alike.

However, ultimately while reading this book was certainly an experience I feel that as a narrative it was needlessly all over the place. At times my interest lagged considerably to the point that I considered putting the book aside but I hate giving up on books without getting to the end. While I endured the book until its end, I don’t think I would revisit it.

The book is interesting as the ‘first’ detective novel and I’m glad I’ve finally read a work of Wilkie Collins at last. However, having done that I want to explore other genres of books for the time being.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

