Notes.

Zoella’s Books are Ruining Literacy?

A bit of a different blog-post than usual…

A few days ago, I heard about an article from the Guardian and a few other news sites (all sources are below this blogpost) where apparently it has been argued that famous Youtuber Zoella Sugg’s books are ruining kids’ literacy skills. And the Telegraph article had a spelling mistake in it. Way to go criticizing people’s literacy skills, guys.

Well, to start off, when it all kicked off in 2014 I was a lot angrier than I am now about this whole youtuber book hubbub. I am not a big fan of Zoella’s books in the slightest. Quite frankly, they’re an insult to books.

HOWEVER, that is not the thrust of this blogpost. I’m not here to pour scorn on the books. I think the time for that has been and gone quite a while ago.
Anyway, the thing is – kids should always challenge themselves to read books of different genres. Not only is it very fun, you might actually find something you like and might want to read again. I remember I read Jane Eyre when I was eleven years old and that was what sparked my love of 19th century fiction and historical sagas.

While the Zoella books might not be very intellectually challenging, that’s not the key thing. What matters most is that kids are reading in the first place. If it get’s the ball rolling, then that’s great. So long as they’re attempting to read a wide range of genres, then that’s cool. Otherwise, staying stagnant with the same author it means you can’t explore a wide range of writing styles.

While it also is important for English teachers to ensure that their students are reading, kids shouldn’t feel pressured to read massively complex books just because they have to. It’s very likely they won’t actually like the book, and after all, reading is supposed to be fun.

What are your thoughts about this issue? Or haven’t you thought about it at all? Let me know in the comments xxx

Sources:

The Telegraph

The Guardian

The Daily Mail

2 thoughts on “Zoella’s Books are Ruining Literacy?

  1. This completely sums up what I’ve thought about Zoella’s books. I know I wouldn’t want to read them myself, but if they can get kids that wouldn’t read reading then what’s the harm? The same could be said for authors like Jacqueline Wilson who’s books were banned in my primary school for not being ‘challenging’ even though we loved reading them.

Leave a Reply

