Books that have film Adaptations · Graphic Novels / Comic Books

Ethel & Ernest by Raymond Briggs

“I grew it from a pip,” 

This comic book is the story of the author’s parents who lived through various important moments in the early to mid 20th century.

The comic book is also very short, and I managed to read it in a few hours. The character design was beautifully done, and the story was simple yet beautiful at the same time. I highly recommend checking out the film based on this comic book as well.

Briggs wrote this about his mum and dad, and while not the conventional love story, the book is charming in itself. In a way, it also reminds me of my grandparents. Briggs also cleverly maps the story of his parents against wider social and cultural changes of the 20th century, not to mention the frictions which are always present between generations while the world continues to change and move on.

I’ve only recently started to get into comic books / graphic novels and this one was a complete delight to read. I highly recommend it. Having read this, I’m really tempted to read more of Briggs’s work.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

