Books that have film Adaptations · Companion Books for TV / Film · Graphic Novels / Comic Books

Watchmen by Alan Moore 

“Who watches the watchmen?”

I brought a copy of this graphic novel when I studied the film about a year ago. However, it was only now that I got around to reading the comic book.

Over all, I really enjoyed it. It was longer than other comic books I had explored in the past. This comic book is expansive, to say the least.

The superheroes themselves are presented as immensely flawed in a very volatile world. This was well presented within the narrative of the comic books story.

Having brought this specific comic book to be used in tandem with the movie of the same name, I feel that I should have at least rewatched the film because the comic book covers a lot within its 400 pages and adaptation can obviously add a lot to its source material.

At the very least, I may reread this comic book at some point in the future. At the very least, I really enjoyed it. The artwork itself was brilliantly done; very vibrant, and there is a section at the end which goes into depth to do with the creative process of drawing for comic books. Interesting, I’m sure, for readers who are fascinated by that part of the creative process.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

