Scottish / Irish lit.

Sunset Song by Lewis Grassic Gibbon

“Oh, lassie, I’ve come home!” he said, and went into the heart that was his forever. 

This book tells the story of a young woman called Chris living in Scotland at the beginning of the 20th century. She longs for a way of life outside of her family farm but with the arrival of World War I, her world is left in tatters.

To be honest, I couldn’t get into this book right away. That is no criticism of the book itself, its just its style took a bit of getting used to at first. However, when I was fully immersed in the book, I loved it. The narrative voice is written in Scottish dialect, and makes the story have a sing-song quality to it which I quickly became immersed in.

While I didn’t adore this book, it was still a good book to read. I became engrossed in Chris’s life and her desire to escape her family and yet being drawn back into the familiar folds of her farm when her father dies. However, she tries to reason with her own familial memories as family secrets come to the surface.

Apparently its the first of a trilogy and while the idea of continuing to read on in Chris’s story intrigues me, I will likely save that experience for another time as I have other books to explore.

MY RATING: ***.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

