American Lit · Books for Teens · Companion Books for TV / Film

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher 

“The only way to learn the secret…is to press play,” 

I became aware of this book because of the publicity surrounding the Netflix series of the same name. While the book did not leave me in a puddle of tears, it raises important questions about issues such as consent and peer pressure.

The two narratives were well interlinked and the duo narrative worked well within the context of the story. Other characters within the story were variously well developed or, on the flips idea,  not. The characters are just shown from the point of view of Hannah, the girl who recorded the tapes and ultimately committed suicide.

This book also shows how the actions of one person can affect other people. Possibly simplistic , yes , however it’s worth thinking about. I’ve never read any book with the premise of this book.

While this simple fact could make me love this book, I can’t adore it. I’ve never been much of a fan of young adult fiction, and despite the serious subject matter it never quite skims above standard young adult fare.

I’m writing this book as someone who has never contemplated suicide. I’m not trying to trivialize the problems of the main character but it made me remember that secondary school (my equivalent of high school) was such a small part of my life and anything of significance then doesn’t matter very much at all now. However suicide is not the answer.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a Reply

