Books I didn't like · Lists · Misc. Lit · Notes / Notices · Notes.

BOOKS I’M DONATING (+WHY!)

Because as one chapter of my life ends and another begins,  I realized I would need to donate some of my books to charity shops as I currently have far too many. Also keeping too many books around will just inhibit the ease of transportation. Of course it’s perfect for a blog post, in case you’re interested in what books a random girl in the south of England is donating to a charity shop .

These books are listed in no particular order, and I’ve also included my reasons for disliking each book enough to donate it.

Alex y Robert by Wena Poon This book wasn’t memorable at all. Also I got it cheaply in the reduced section of waterstones. There are better books out there.

Who is Tom Ditto by Danny Wallace I haven’t read this book in ages and have no desire to revisit it. The plot was also not particularly memorable,even though it tried it’s best to be quirky.

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins I liked the first book buy felt indifferent to the other two books in the trilogy. I didn’t like the series enough to keep it around. It was very boring and predictable.

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North A good premise but poorly executed.

Sister by Rosamund Lupton A good book but I didn’t like it enough to keep it in my collection. Also if I remember rightly the ending was good but couldn’t quite save the rest of the book.

Submarine by Joe Dunthorne I hated the main protagonist. I couldn’t sympathise with him at all.

American Psycho by Brett Easton Ellis This book made my skin crawl.

Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella I’m not keen on Becky Bloomwood as a character. It always seems as if she doesn’t take responsibility for her actions and leaves it up to others to rescue her from her problems. It’s charming for two books but quickly gets boring.

I wish I was engulfed in flames by Jeni Decker I just don’t think I’m the demographic for this book about the authors autistic sons. Massive respect to her though.

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins I respect that it was the first type of book within its genre but the multiple perspectives got boring quickly as only a few of them were interesting. Also the ultimate story was a bit lacklustre.

Javascript Creativity by Shane Hudson Seeing as I am not a dev or programmer this book has limited use for me. While certainly informative it’s replay value is limited.

In God’s House by Ray Mouton A book about the abuse of children at the hands of the clergy. While it’s certainly daring for Mouton to write about it it’s not the sort of book I would readily wish to reread.

Have you donated any books recently ? Which ones were they ? Let me know!  😀

Leave a Reply

