Non-Fiction.

Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee by Dee Brown

“A people’s dream died there. It was a beautiful dream,” 

Back in secondary school I learned about the Native Americans in the American West. However I learned about it from the perspective of the White Americans. I heard about this book through the book website goodreads and I was so elated when I brought it recently.

While it does refer to earlier settling of white settlers on Native American land, it specifically focuses on the years 1860-1890. It explores the constant mistreatment of Native Americans at the hands of white soldiers and settlers, where the Native Americans are at the receiving end of constant broken promises and are being forever uprooted all in the name of expansion.

The book goes into depth about many of the well known Indian chiefs and their relationships with their tribes, not to mention their efforts at peace with the American government and its army.

I am still relatively new in regards to reading up about this aspect of history. For one thing I feel it is vastly under explored and yet incredibly fascinating. This book has encouraged me to read more into it. While it did not have me weeping in a sorry mess on the floor, it still got me thinking deeply about my personal perceptions of history. Or at least, in this case, the history I was taught at school.

This book is just so sad because it calls people to account for destroying a people and a way of life where those left behind had to fight for their identity. I know that perhaps my vitriol in this review is unjustified as I am not American. However it is still a worthwhile book, and I would recommend it to everyone.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a Reply

