Kindle Reads · LGBTQIA fiction

The Last List of Mabel Beaumont by Laura Pearson

“It’s been just the two of us for many years,”

This was a book I picked up because the premise was interesting and I have to say that my feelings towards the book changed many times as I read it although ultimately it surprised me, in a good way.

I feel like the relationship between Arthur and Mabel was realistically wrought as was Mabel’s grief after he’s gone. The narrative voice also felt very realistic as Mabel navigates how she sees the modern world especially after she makes new friends such as her careworker, a neighbour of hers who is a new mum and a retail employee who has a difficult relationship with her parents. Through these people over the course of the novel, Mabel finds purpose.

The biggest overreaching plot is Mabel’s quest to find her longtime friend Dot and this is done so in a quietly enthralling way, while she recalls past events from her youth and her marriage to her husband Arthur.

The themes explored are evocative and thought provoking such as grief, loss, homophobia and family. This was a highly compelling book and while its a little on the slower side narratively I still found each twist and turn to be engaging. I’d recommend picking up this book if you encounter it on your wanderings.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a comment