American Lit · Christmas fiction · Kindle Reads

Eggnog, Mistletoe and Noah St James by J.S Cooper

“You seem to know a lot about British accents,”

I think the thing that drew me to this book initially was the premise. At least, from the outset it seemed fun and the sort of plot I would want to read. However, as the book went along I realized the premise was the only thing I liked about it. The central plot focuses on Noah, a wealthy businessman, and Taytum, who ends up as a nanny for his niece and nephews following comical misunderstandings.

I really felt like Taytum was trying hard to be the typical quirky female protagonist especially with her rambling exposition to strangers and aspirations to be the heroine of a Hallmark Christmas film but most of all because of her very infantile and childish character left me feeling bored. The chemistry between Noah and Taytum felt really contrived and forced, and their banter felt really bland.

Aside from the blandness of Taytum, none of the other characters felt real or tangible. Noah was an arrogant, unlikeable protagonist who had the unfortunate propensity shared by other male protagonist with his tendency to growl at every opportunity. The sex scenes between Taytum and Noah felt really wooden, as if they were written by an AI. The stakes of the story just ebbed into nothingness near the end, if you could call it an end. It just stopped after Taytum confesses her secret to Noah.

There’s no denying that Cooper is an enthusiastic writer but that’s not enough to make up for how bland the story was and as such I don’t think this book has endeared me to wanting to read the other books in the series either.

MY RATING: ** / *****

Leave a comment