Kindle Reads · Korean fiction

Nowhere to be Found by Bae Suah

“Even now I think maybe my family is just a random collection of people I knew long ago,”

This is a book I picked up on Kindle in a bid to read more diverse fiction. I think in that at least, I succeeded.

The story is set in South Korea where the nameless narrator goes through live having a variety of life experiences such from the ordinary to the mundane, such as working at a university, having unsatisfying sex with her boyfriend or bringing him a cooked chicken at the request of his mother when he’s undergoing army training.

The prose of this book is really beautiful and that adds a rare brilliance to the mundane existence that the protagonist lives.

I think the various familial struggles were brilliantly wrought in a way that may ensure that people find affinity with the main character.

That being said, while the prose is beautiful I think the plot feels too absurdist to be a memorable read. May be worth picking up if you want to read diverse fiction, though.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a comment