Misc. Historical Fiction. · Sequels

Yours Cheerfully by AJ Pearce

“All we want you to know is that we want to work for our boys.”

I’d read the previous book in this series Dear Mrs Bird and really enjoyed it so I was utterly delighted to hear of a sequel. Usually sequels always feel a bit substandard, as if they have less to prove. Here, however this book series just went from strength to strength.

The narrative feels really authentic as it tells the story of Emmy’s experience writing for a women’s magazine during World War II, and her efforts to help the women she meets in the course of writing her articles. Alongside this are other narrative arcs such as her long-standing friendship with her friend Bunty and her romance with a soldier, Charles.

It’s a deceptively frothy story but I found that I was really drawn into the story as it unfolded, and while it doesn’t do anything particularly novel with the narrative, I was still utterly charmed and besotted with Emmy and her friends. That being said, I think it portrays female friendships really well and really authentically. I hope there are more books in the series.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a comment